In Ruhe pflegen. In Ruhe genesen.

Calm Critical Care - Lösungen mit Alarmfilterfunktion zur Lärmvermeidung für Intensivstationen

Wie kann ein Krankenhaus Alarme von Patientenmonitoren und anderen Geräten am Krankenbett auf der Intensivstation an mobile Mitarbeiter weiterleiten und gleichzeitig die Lärmbelästigung und das Risiko der Alarmmüdigkeit minimieren? Die Herausforderung besteht darin, dass Mitarbeiter Patientendaten und Alarme möglichst schnell empfangen müssen. Doch zu viele klinisch unbedeutende Alarme, vor allem nachts, beeinträchtigen das Personal und können sich negativ auf das Wohlbefinden der Patienten auswirken. Eine Möglichkeit ist intelligentes Alarmmanagement, das den Alarmfluss an die Mitarbeiter mit Patientenkontakt filtert.

771 Dies ist die durchschnittliche Anzahl von Alarmzuständen für ein einziges Intensivbett im Johns Hopkins Hospital in den USA an einem Tag.1 Diese Zahl macht deutlich: Auf Intensivstationen wird es immer lauter. Nicht nur das Personal und die Arbeitsabläufe leiden darunter. Übermäßiger Lärm von klinisch unbedeutenden Alarmen stört die Patienten. Schlafmangel, Delirium und eine verstärkte Medikamentenverbrauch sind die Folge.2 Ascom Lösungen für die Intensivstation können die Situation verbessern, indem sie Alarme auf intelligente Weise filtern, sodass diese die richtige Person zur richtigen Zeit erreichen.

Referenzen:
1. AAMI Foundation (2012) Using Data to Drive Alarm System Improvement Efforts: The Johns Hopkins Hospital Experience [online] Verfügbar unter: http://www.premiersafetyinstitute.org/wp-content/uploads/Johns-Hopkins-White-Paper.pdf [18. April 2016]
2. World Health Organization (2009) Night noise guidelines for Europe [online] Verfügbar unter: http://www.euro.who.int/__data/assets/pdf_file/0017/43316/E92845.pdf?ua=1 [18. April 2016]

ascom-image-Kuopio-Krankenschwestern-Inkubator

Übersicht

Produkte der Lösung

Dokumente

Übersicht

Produkte der Lösung

Dokumente

  • Wie Ascom zur Reduzierung von Lärmbelästigung und Alarmmüdigkeit auf Intensivstationen beitragen kann

    Jede Calm Critical Care Lösung ist einzigartig - angepasst an die speziellen Anforderungen und Ressourcen des Krankenhauses. Eine Lösung umfasst in der Regel ein Ascom Patientenrufsystem, Ascom Unite und Digistat Software und Anwendungen sowie Ascom Handsets. Geräte am Krankenbett wie Überwachungsgeräte und Pumpen können mit dem Patientenrufsystem über ein Ascom Multiple Medical Alarm Modul verbunden werden.* Überwachungsgeräte können auch über Netzwerkverbindungen mit der Ascom Unite und Digistat Software zentral verbunden werden.

    Die Ascom Unite Software und die Digistat Software sind intelligente Kernstücke einer Calm Critical Care Lösung. Neben der Verarbeitung von Alarmen von medizinischen Geräten übermittelt die Ascom Software diese Alarme über eine drahtlose Infrastruktur (typischerweise Wi-Fi oder DECT) an die Handsets der einzelnen Pflegekräfte wie beispielsweise das Ascom Myco Smartphone für Krankenhausumgebungen.

    * Das Ascom Multiple Medical Alarm Modul ist nur innerhalb der EU erhältlich.

    Warum ist eine Lärmreduzierung wichtig?

    • Erzeugte Alarme pro Patient

      Durchschnittliche Anzahl für einen Intensivpatienten [1]
      771
      771
    • "Unnötige" Alarme der Patientenüberwachung

      Klinisch unbedeutende Alarme der Patientenüberwachung [2]
      80-99 %
      80-99 %
    • Durchschnittlicher Umgebungslärmpegel tagsüber

      Es besteht ein Zusammenhang zwischen Lärm und Schlafmangel.[3],[4],[5]
      72 dB
      72 dB

    Referenzen:
    1. AAMI Foundation (2012) Using Data to Drive Alarm System Improvement Efforts; The Johns Hopkins Hospital Experience [online] Verfügbar unter: http://www.premiersafetyinstitute.org/wp-content/uploads/Johns-Hopkins-White-Paper.pdf > [16. März 2016]
    2. Cvach, M. (2012). Monitor Alarm Fatigue: An Integrative Review. Biomedical Instrumentation & Technology, 46(4), S.268-277.
    3. EurekAlert! (2005) Rise in hospital noise poses problems for patients and staff. [online] Verfügbar unter: http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2005-11/jhu-rih111905.php [Zugriff 15. März 2016].
    4. Delaney, L., Van Haren, F. und Lopez, V. (2015). Sleeping on a problem: the impact of sleep disturbance on intensive care patients - a clinical review. Ann. Intensive Care, 5(1).
    5. Hsieh, S., Ely, E. und Gong, M. (2013). Can Intensive Care Unit Delirium Be Prevented and Reduced?. Lessons Learned and Future Directions. Annals ATS, 10(6), S.648-656.

    Ascom Case Kuopio
    PDF

    Ascom Case Kuopio

    Die Ascom Alarmmanagementlösung ermöglicht die Umsetzung eines neuen, familienorientierten Ansatzes auf der neonatologischen Intensivstation, der zu verbesserten klinischen Ergebnissen, engerer elterlichen Bindung und verkürzter Aufenthaltsdauer beitragen kann.
  • Architektur der Lösung

    ascom-image-
    Beschreibung der Architektur

    Jede Lösung umfasst in der Regel eine Kombination aus Infrastruktur, Software und Mobilgeräte wie das Ascom Myco Android-Smartphone. Jedes Element wird in eine Lösung integriert, die für eine nahtlose Zusammenarbeit und Kommunikation der einzelnen Pflegekräfte und Pflegeteams sorgt.

    Produkte der Lösung

    • Keine Suchergebnisse gefunden. Bitte verfeinern Sie Ihre Suche.

    warning-icon
    There is no item to show, or the component is misconfigured!
  • Kuopio University Hospital reference case
    PDF

    Kuopio University Hospital reference case

    How an Ascom alert-handling solution is helping to provide ‘familycentered’ Neonatal Intensive Care—a fresh departure in NICU practice that can contribute to improved clinical outcomes, better parental bonding, and reduced lengths of stay.

Weitere Lösungen

Verfügbarkeit, Konfiguration und technische Spezifikationen von Ascom Produkten, Diensten und Lösungen können je nach Land variieren. Weitere Einzelheiten erhalten Sie von Ihrem Ascom Ansprechpartner in Ihrer Nähe.

The peace to heal. The calm to care.

Calm Critical Care—filtered noise reduction solutions for Critical Care Units (CCU)

How can a hospital distribute alerts from monitors and other bedside equipment  to mobile CCU staff, while simultaneously minimizing noise pollution and the risk of ‘alarm fatigue’? The challenge is that staff require timely patient data and alerts. But too many clinically insignificant alerts—particularly at night—impact staff, and can compromise patient well-being. One possible way forward is intelligent alert notification management that filters the flow of alerts to frontline staff.

771. That’s the average number of alarm conditions a single CCU bed at Johns Hopkins Hospital in the US bed generated in one day.1 It’s a figure that highlights a major challenge: CCUs are becoming increasingly noisy. And it’s not only staff and workflows that suffer. Excessive noise from clinically insignificant alarms disturbs patients, leading to sleep deprivation, delirium and increased consumption of medications.2 Ascom CCU solutions can improve the situation by intelligently filtering alerts, ensuring they go to the right person at the right time. 

References:
1. AAMI Foundation (2012) Using Data to Drive Alarm System Improvement Efforts: The Johns Hopkins Hospital Experience [online] available from http://www.premiersafetyinstitute.org/wp-content/uploads/Johns-Hopkins-White-Paper.pdf  [18 April 2016]
2. World Health Organization (2009) Ni ght noise guidelines for Europe [online] available from http://www.euro.who.int/__data/assets/pdf_file/0017/43316/E92845.pdf?ua=1  [18 April 2016]    
 

ascom-image-kuopio-nurses-incubator

Overview

Solution products

Documents

Overview

Solution products

Documents

  • How Ascom can help reduce noise pollution and alert fatigue at Critical Care Units

    Each Calm Critical Care solution is unique; tailored to a hospital’s specific needs and resources. But a solution typically incorporates an Ascom nurse call system, Ascom Unite and Digistat softwares and applications, and Ascom handsets. Bedside equipment such as monitors and pumps can be connected to the nurse call system via an Ascom Multiple Medical Alarm Module.* Monitoring equipment can also be connected centrally by using network connections to the Ascom Unite and Digistat softwares.

    Ascom Unite and Digistat softwares are the intelligent cores of a Calm Critical Care solution. In addition to processing alerts from medical devices, Ascom softwares also direct these alerts along wireless infrastructure (typically Wi-Fi or DECT) to individual caregivers’ handsets such as the built-for-Healthcare Ascom Myco smartphone.  

    * The Ascom Multiple Medical Alarm Module is available only in the EU.

    Why is noise reduction important?

    • Number of alarms generated per patient

      Average daily number for one ICU patient [1] 771
      771
    • Number of 'unnecessary' PM alarms

      Non-clinically significant patient monitoring alarms [2] 80-99%
      80-99%
    • Daytime average for ambient noise

      Noise has been linked to sleep deprivation.[3],[4],[5] 72dB
      72dB

    References:
    1.  AAMI Foundation (2012) Using Data to Drive Alarm System Improvement Efforts; The Johns Hopkins Hospital Experience [online] Available at http://www.premiersafetyinstitute.org/wp-content/uploads/Johns-Hopkins-White-Paper.pdf > [16 March 2016]
    2. Cvach, M. (2012). Monitor Alarm Fatigue : An Integrative Review. Biomedical Instrumentation & Technology, 46(4), pp.268-277.
    3. EurekAlert! (2005) Rise in hospital noise poses problems for patients and staff. [online] Available at: http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2005-11/jhu-rih111905.php [Accessed 15 Mar. 2016].
    4. Delaney, L., Van Haren, F. and Lopez, V. (2015). Sleeping on a problem: the impact of sleep disturbance on intensive care patients - a clinical review. Ann. Intensive Care, 5(1).
    5. Hsieh, S., Ely, E. and Gong, M. (2013). Can Intensive Care Unit Delirium Be Prevented and Reduced?. Lessons Learned and Future Directions. Annals ATS, 10(6), pp.648-656.

     

    Kuopio University Hospital reference case
    PDF

    Kuopio University Hospital reference case

    How an Ascom alert-handling solution is helping to provide ‘familycentered’ Neonatal Intensive Care—a fresh departure in NICU practice that can contribute to improved clinical outcomes, better parental bonding, and reduced lengths of stay.
  • Solution architecture

    ascom-image-
    Architecture description

    Each solution typically involves a combination of infrastructure, software and mobile devices such as the Android-based Ascom Myco smartphone. Each element is integrated into a solution that delivers smooth collaboration and communication between individual caregivers and care teams.

    Solution products

    • No search results were found. Please, refine your search.

    warning-icon
    There is no item to show, or the component is misconfigured!
  • Kuopio University Hospital reference case
    PDF

    Kuopio University Hospital reference case

    How an Ascom alert-handling solution is helping to provide ‘familycentered’ Neonatal Intensive Care—a fresh departure in NICU practice that can contribute to improved clinical outcomes, better parental bonding, and reduced lengths of stay.

Other solutions

The availability, configuration and technical specifications of Ascom products, services and solutions may vary from country to country. Please ask your nearest Ascom representative for further details.